2004 BBWAA Ballot @ BP

Part of my ongoing effort to catalog my Hall of Fame-related coverage at Baseball Prospectus for this site. A recent design change at BP may result in formatting issues. 

In November or December 2004, Baseball Prospectus invited me to contribute an article or articles analyzing the BBWAA ballot, drawing upon the work I had done at FutilityInfielder.com during the previous two winters. The result, which was not yet called JAWS, used Baseball Prospectus’ still-new Wins Above Replacement Player metric (created by Clay Davenport), which used a significantly lower replacement level than today’s WAR, and a definition of peak based on a player’s best five-year run, with allowances made for injuries or military service.

Joe Carter, Dave Concepcion, Andre Dawson, Jim Eisenreich, Cecil Fielder, Steve Garvey, Keith Hernandez, Don Mattingly, Kevin Mitchell, Paul Molitor, Dale Murphy, Dave Parker, Terry Pendleton, Jim Rice,  Juan Samuel, Ryne Sandberg, Alan Trammell

Bert Blyleven, Doug Drabek, Dennis Eckersley, Rich Gossage, Tommy John, Jimmy Key, Dennis Martinez, Jack Morris, Randy Myers, Lee Smith, Dave Stieb, Bruce Sutter, Bob Tewksbury, Fernando Valenzuela


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s